Ohio American History & Genealogy

1816 Ohio Gazetteer
Jackson to Johnstown

Jackson, a southerly county, bounded north by Ross and Athens, east by Athens and Gallia, south by Gallia and Scioto, and on the west by Pike and Ross counties. It is 24 by 20 miles in extent; comprising 414 square miles. This is a new county, established by the legislature in February last, and laid off around the Scioto salt works as a center. The face of the land is generally uneven and hilly: but some parts are valuable. It is supposed to contain nearly 2000 inhabitants.

Jackson, a township of Fairfield County.

Jackson, a township of Knox County.

Jackson, a township of Stark County.

Jackson, a township of Champaign County, containing 215 inhabitants.

Jackson, a recently organized township of Montgomery County.

Jacksonville, a new settlement or town, in Violet Township, Fairfield County, 18 miles from Lancaster, on the road from that town to Delaware.

Jacobstown, a small town of Belmont County.

Jamestown, a small town or village, in Silver Creek township, Green County, containing one store.

Jefferson, a river county, bounded on the north by Columbiana County, east by the Ohio River, south by Belmont, and west by Harrison County. It is 27 miles long from north to south, and 20 broad from the Ohio River westward: and contains about 500 square miles. It is a flourishing county; containing the four tolerably thriving towns of Jefferson, Steubenville, Mt. Pleasant and Warren. Valuation in 1815 was 2,083,759 dollars. County seat Steubenville.

Jefferson, a town recently laid out in the above described county, 12 miles northerly from Steubenville.

Jefferson, a post town and county seat of Ashtabula County. It contains a brick court house of 40 by 50 feet area, and a school house. It is situated on Mill's Creek, about 10 miles from the lake shore, 35 miles northerly from Warren in Trumbull County, and 190 N. E. from Columbus. North latitude 41. 45, West longitude 3. 60.

Jefferson, a township of Adams County.

Jefferson, a township of Richland County.

Jefferson, a post town, and former county seat of Pickaway County. It is situated on a central part of the Pickaway plains, from whence there is an extensive view in every direction. Distance 3 miles south of Circleville, 28 southerly from Columbus, and 16 north from Chillicothe,

Jefferson, a township in the eastern part of Madison County.

Jefferson, a township of Champaign County, containing 540 inhabitants.

Jefferson, a township in the north west corner of Fayette County.

Jefferson, a township likewise in the northwest corner of Preble County.

Jefferson, fort, [See Fort Jefferson.]

Jefferson, a township of Montgomery County, in which is laid out a town called Liberty.

Jerome's fork, a northern Branch of Mohican creek.

Jeromestown, an inconsiderable Indian settlement, so called, in Wayne County, adjoining its western limit; on the road from Wooster to Mansfield.

Jeromesville, a recently laid out town on Jerome's creek, 1 mile from the above described settlement, and 15 west of Wooster.

Johnstown, a small town in the northwestern quarter of Licking County, situated on the middle or Raccoon fork of Licking creek, and 20 miles northwesterly from Newark, on the road leading to Delaware.

Back to the Index

Source: The Ohio Gazetteer or Topographical Dictionary, by John Kilbourn, A. M.,
Smith & Griswold Printers, Columbus, Nov. 1816

This page was last updated Tuesday, 23-Aug-2016 13:18:05 EDT.
All Rights Reserved

Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited.
This site may not be duplicated in any way without consent.

Copyright © 2016~2023 by Ohio AHGP