Ohio American History & Genealogy

1816 Ohio Gazetteer

Ohio Lands

When Ohio was admitted into the Union as an independent state, one of the terms of admission was that the fee simple to all lands included within its limits, excepting those previously granted or sold, should vest in the United States. Different portions of them, at diverse periods, have been granted or sold to various individuals, companies and bodies politic. The following are the names by which the lands are designated, on account of these different forms of transfer, namely: Congress lands, Connecticut Reserve, Fire lands, Donation tract, French Grant, Ohio Company's purchase, Refugee tract, Symmes Patent, United States Military tract, Virginia Military tract. For the sale of Congress and United States Military lands, these are subdivided into the six land districts of Canton, Steubenville, Marietta, Zanesville, Chillicothe and Cincinnati. For a particular notice of all these districts and lands see their several descriptions, under their several heads respectively.

Table of Contents

Back to Ohio AHGP

Source: The Ohio Gazetteer or Topographical Dictionary, by John Kilbourn, A. M.,
Smith & Griswold Printers, Columbus, Nov. 1816

This page was last updated Tuesday, 23-Aug-2016 13:18:04 EDT.
All Rights Reserved

Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited.
This site may not be duplicated in any way without consent.

Copyright © 2016~2024 by Ohio AHGP